Diva Cup Update

Diva CupI did it! I finally purchased a Diva Cup this weekend. I found one in Blainville at Jean Coutu for $34.99. Yeah, it’s far. But I also found one at a Rachel Béry homeopathic store on Ste-Catherine E. It’s next to an IGA near Berri metro and they sell it for $39.99.

As soon as I got home, I rushed to the bathroom to test it out. First things first, READ THE INSTRUCTIONS! I thought I could just ram it in there, but then it plopped out (ew). You’re supposed to fold the Diva Cup a certain way and then insert it. Once it’s in there, you have to turn it a full 360 degrees, a seemingly simple task. I stood there, in my tiny bathroom, holding the wall, one foot on the edge of the bath trying to turn the stupid cup but my fucking vagina skin kept getting stuck in my fingernails. It hurt so bad! I don’t know if I have too much vagina skin, is that possible? I guess I should have cut my nails shorter.

I took a chance and decided to not turn it and luckily I didn’t have any leaks. The next morning, I  took out the cup in the shower to avoid any potential messes. It took a while to remove it, what with my nails pinching excess skin. When I took it out, I stared at it for a while. For some reason, I decided to take a whiff of  it. Ew, it smelled so bad! Like ten times worse than regular period smell. I cleaned it a bunch of times but there’s still a faint odour. Maybe silicone traps smells, I don’t know.

Anyway, I’ve been wearing the Diva Cup since Sunday and have experienced zero leaks. I don’t feel it at all once it’s up there, unless I didn’t put it in right. It’s just a bit of a bitch to stick it  in and especially to take it out. The easiest way to remove it is to sit on the bowl as if you’re gonna take a poop and then just inhale and exhale and it’ll come right out. I gotta say, it’s a little awkward to balance a cup full of blood in your left hand while wiping or trying to pull your panties up. Also, I wouldn’t attempt to take it out at school or at a friend’s house, that’s kind of raunchy.

Overall, I give the Diva Cup a 8/10.

-Maria D

8 Comments

Filed under BAD BANGS

8 responses to “Diva Cup Update

  1. leslie`nikole

    i’m sorry. i can’t. i won’t.

  2. Janet

    I agree with Leslie Nikole’s statement…. aaaaaand… a week without sex?!?!?! that’s just blasphemy!!!

  3. Nicole

    I’m on the fence about this one… Would seem uber cool not to have to worry about pads or tampons for a week, but the clean-up/taking it out sounds nastier than changing a diarrhea filled baby diaper. I have a very sensitive gag reflex, so I’m afraid of not only making a mess while removing the sucker, but also puking all over myself during the process.

    Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  4. I used the diva cup for a while, but I have a problem with my vagina. The muscles get really tense and sore if something is up there too long. Like with tampons – in the morning when I put a fresh one in it’s ok, but when i want to change it during the day the new one just WON’T go in. It’s like my vagina is screaming NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO. So I got tired of trying to fit the cup in there. And in all honesty – I’m just too lazy!

  5. omg… about the smell. mine did that too. but now i store it in a container with a little baking soda and it doesn’t smell anymore.

  6. Sarah

    I’m with Nicole on this one….
    what happens if you spill blood all over the bathroom…how do I explain that to my roomates.
    and I don’t think I could deal with the smell….

    • badbangs

      For the smell… well I practically put my nose right into it lol
      The smell is only obvious is bring the cup close to your nostrils, why would you do that? unless youre gross like me

      You’re supposed to change the cup twice a day
      So I change it once in the shower… as for dropping it, hasnt happened yet but if you do change it twice then there isnt that much blood to spill

      I gotta try this baking soda trick though

  7. Sarah

    what’s the baking soda trick??
    I might try it if the smell isn’t that bad…

Leave a Reply

